#ThriveIn475 Celebrates Student and Staff Achievements!

Earlier this week, USD 475 had the opportunity to celebrate the many achievements of students and staff over the past several months. The achievements included State-level recognitions and annual District awards.

Post your congratulations using the hashtag #ThriveIn475 on Facebook or Twitter!

Flickr Album Gallery Powered By: Weblizar

3R Award
The Superintendent’s Three R Award represents respect, responsibility, and positive relationships. Students who demonstrate these qualities are nominated by their building principal for the award. The following students demonstrated these qualities:

Maggie Hardie – Eisenhower, Forth Grade
Sophia Graves – Fort Riley, Third Grade
Brandon Logan – Franklin, Forth Grade
Rylee Huston – Grandview, Third Grade
Andrew Pena – Jefferson, Fourth Grade
Braedon Stroda – Lincoln, Fifth Grade
Samantha Maike – Milford, Fifth Grade
Savanna Kyle – Morris Hill, Fourth Grade
Myeisha Medlock – Seitz, Third Grade
Ava Cruz – Sheridan, Kindergarten
Kourtney Dibben – Spring Valley, Fifth Grade
Anthony Dial – Ware, Kindergarten
Chaniya Green – Washington, Fifth Grade
Myka VonSpreckelsen – Westwood, Second Grade
Luis Villanueva – FRMS, Seventh Grade
Madison Cynova – JCMS, Eighth Grade

2018 KMEA All-State Elementary Choir
Students from Fort Riley Elementary will be participating in the Kansas Music Educators Association All State Elementary Choir this year.  This Choir is comprised of students from around Kansas whose educators are members of KMEA. We are proud to recognize those students participating in the Choir:

Ayana Kelley, Third Grade
Giovanni Brooks, Fourth Grade
Xavier Winter, Fifth Grade

Kansas State Science and Engineering Fair Qualifier
The Kansas State Science and Engineering Fair will be held April 6 in Wichita, Kansas. This fair will host experiments designed by fourth through twelfth graders. Students competing were chosen from regional competitions throughout Kansas. We would like to recognize those students who will represent USD 475 at the Kansas State Science and Engineering Fair.

Students from Fort Riley Middle School
Logan Carroll, Seventh Grade
Lisanit Vega, Eighth Grade

Student from Junction City Middle School
Benjamin Duran

State FBLA Competition
Future Business Leaders of America is a program offered by Junction City High School. The students participating in this program attended a state competition to include topics such as parliamentary procedures, securities, and investments, accounting, impromptu speaking, and entrepreneurship.

The Board recognized those students who placed at the State Competition:

Stephen Smith, 8th Place, Securities & Investments
Stephen Smith, 10th Place, Accounting I
Jeremiah Nieves, 4th Place, Intro to Parliamentary Procedures
Jalen Williams, 6th Place, Accounting II
Trevor Provost, 5th Place, Impromptu Speaking
Trevor Provost & Jalen Williams, 5th Place, Entrepreneurship

North Central Kansas Music Education Assn. Outstanding Elementary Music Teacher
Desiree Brown

Konza District 2017 Post Advisor of the Year
Nancy Dettmer

School Safety Recognition
The Board of Education recognized Mr Scott Clark for his planning, development and implementation of a comprehensive District Emergency operations program over the last three plus years. This program effectively involves, District, Junction City, Fort Riley and Geary County law enforcement and emergency operations personnel. Mr. Clark’s effectiveness is partially recognized with USD 475 being the first organization in the country to receive the ‘ALICE Institute’ Active Shooter training certification two years in a row.

The Board of Education also recognized Mr. Wayne Marston, GCA for, upon his own initiative, conducting market research to locate a supplier of cost-effective intruder locks. His efforts allowed District to accelerate the installation of intruder security locks on every classroom door in the District two years ahead of schedule. Mr. Marston also performed the installation of these locks in the early morning hours prior to school start to minimize the impact on daily school operations. Additionally, Mr. Marston experimented and found a successful means for modifying door lock systems at Ware Elementary and thereby further reduced costs to the District.

Scott Clark and Wayne Marston

Tech Innovator
The Board of Education presents the Tech Innovator Award to selected USD 475 staff members who show technology innovation in the classroom. They are cutting-edge trendsetters and innovators, they use technology to regularly enhance teaching and learning, and they share their technology use with their colleagues. The 2018 April Tech Innovators are:

Ashley Elmir, JCHS
Jamie Francis, Morris Hill Elementary
Amanda Frost, FSA
Kady Kilongkilong, Washington Elementary
Joseph Rix, JCHS

Shining Star

The Board of Education presents the Shining Star Award to selected USD 475 staff members who provide exceptional service to or credit upon the school district. Staff members who receive this award show their contribution to the betterment of their profession, community service, and how their actions impacted the overall perception of Geary County Schools.

Christa Decorah, Milford Elementary
Kari Duntz, Spring Valley Elementary
Caitlin Graham, Sheridan Elementary
Becky Hickert, Junction City High School
Cody Hill, Fort Riley Elementary
Janet Lee, Spring Valley Elementary

Please follow and like us:

You May Also Like

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now