Board Recap – June 5, 2017

Board of Education members and district officials with members of the community gathered at the Devin Center on Monday, June 5, 2017, for the monthly Board of Education Meeting. The meeting highlighted several achievements throughout the district which included an Administrator of the Year Award, a Track and Field win at the State level, and a long list of academic achievements.

As is a normal portion of the meeting the Board of Education approved to pay district bills and approved the renewal of services and licenses that were coming up on due. One of these licenses is the Adobe license which gives students and staff access to the industry standard for graphic design and photography editing. Programs like Photoshop, Lightroom, and Illustrator are used throughout the district to both create in-house graphics for district web and print content as well as train the next generation of creative professionals.

During the celebrations portion of the meeting several certificates of recognition were given out to athletes from various schools in the district. Geary County Schools USD 475 and the Kansas Scholastic Press Association recognized Doug Sallee, Fine Arts & Human Services Academy, for being named the Kansas Scholastic Press Association’s Administrator of the Year for 2017.

Geary County Schools USD 475 also recognized Tyler Gromlovits and Logan Roether, Junction City High School Juniors, for becoming a State Qualifiers for Boys Golf. The Fort Riley Middle School Track & Field Team were congratulated for winning the North Central Kansas League Championship for 2017 and the Junction City High Girls Track Team was recognized for winning the 2017 State 6A Class Championship. The team entered the board room to a standing ovation from the Board of Education and attendees.

The district recognized the following JCHS Track and Field Team members for individual and relay events.

Keiana Newman 1st place in 100-meter High Hurdles
Amaya Booker 3rd place in the 100-meter
Shamya Banks, Keiana Newman, Lyric Holman, Amaya Booker (alternate Makaylah Lemons) 1st place in the 4X100
Lyric Holman 3rd place in the 400-meter
Keiana Newman 1st place in the 300-meter Hurdles
Jaylene Brime 2nd place state finisher in the Triple Jump

The USD 475 Board of Education also took time during the June 5th meeting to acknowledge the many academic awards and achievements received by district students during the 2016-2017 school year. The Board of Education also commended the Class of 2017 for their academic achievements, noting that the Class of 2017 earned over $ 2.5 million dollars in local, state and national scholarship awards.

Those students from Junction City High School who were recognized are listed below.

Recognized for Governor’s Scholars Award (Top 1% of Senior Class) – Megan Berry, Nicholas Dombrowski, Jasmine Hunt, Sarah Turner
Commended as Kansas Board of Regents Designated State Scholars – Adam Campbell, Nicholas Dombrowski, Jasmine Hunt

Commended for the Kansas Scholars Curriculum Completers (Curriculum:  English 4 years; Mathematics 4 years; Science, including Physics, 3 years; Social Science 3 years; Foreign Lang. 2 years) – Nigel Algoo, Elizabeth Arneson, Jordan Bailey, Jordan Bly, Breanna Bryan, Adam Campbell, Nicholas Dombrowski, Brandee Farrar, Kiona Freeman, Alexandria Frizzell, Mariana Garcia, Elijah Gardner, Miurel Hamburger, Jasmine Hunt, Macy Jaynes, Brian Kylman, Alexandria McCullough, Allison McKenzie, Abigail Moran, Kaila Musinski, Rosa Paradas, Mason Perez, Marilyn Picazo, Taylor Rich, Cybil Robinson, Cadin Sanner, Kara Senesac, Brittney Siegel, Kaylee Stoner, Broghan Swinscoe, Sarah Turner, Raynell Wilson

Dale M. Dennis Excellence in Education Award – Aubrey Hitchcock
Kansas State High School Activities Association Citizenship Award – Allison McKenzie, Adam Campbell
ACT Scholars of Exceptional Performance – Nicholas Dombrowski
National Merit Commended Scholar – Nicholas Dombrowski

Top 5% of Their Class – Class of 2017 – Jasmine Barry, Megan Berry, Adam Campbell, Nicholas Dombrowski, Kiona Freeman, Taralyn Guthrie, Miurel Hamburger, Jasmine Hunt, Macy Jaynes, Allison McKenzie, Brianna Miller, Kara Senesac, Brittney Siegel, Courtney Skillern, Broghan Swinscoe, Sarah Turner, Isaac Williams, Charles Winchester, Rylee Zimmerman.

Top 5% of Their Class – Class of 2018 – Zachary Bolen, Sidney Budinas, Jadie Chauncey, Cassondra Chesterman, Jiahao Chen, Kennedy Cox, Laramie Diestelkamp, Jordan Dombrowski, Leah Ervin, Guido Greco, Tyler Gromlovits, Gabriella Khoury, Anne Kim, Alyssa Kramer, Breanna Raulston, Alise Santos, Monica Savath,  Chloe Smith.

Top 5% of Their Class – Class of 2019 – Kaydra Baer, Christian Becker, Jared Benton, Reece Boland, Taylor Booth, Megan Burfict, Alexus Butler, Morgan Deering, Cali Delp, Jackson Gardner,  Sarah Hallum, Mallory Hamilton, Alayshia Jacobs, Anne Johnson, Minjeong Kim, Hannah Mancini, Charles Pritchard, John Reeves, Paige Smith, Tiara Smith, Lexe West.

Top 5% of Their Class – Class of 2020 – Clara Alokoa, Joshua Ault, Dajanique Bonner, Christian Carter, Curtney-Olivia Dawson, Lauren Deleonardis, Britney Doan, Hailey Eschliman, Mark Fernandez, Isaiah Galicia, Erin Ganuelas, Kasja Gerard, Kaiya Goggins, Bryan Gonzalez, Jada Harris, Noah Hebert, Alyssa Leon, Naijah Miller, Kei’ana Mims, Zachary Morrison, Jeremiah Nieves, Joel Nieves, Edmundo Porras, Shannon Santos, Makenna Schneidewind, Natalie Seib, Taylor Sennet, Presley Simmons, Aleah Terrell, Hal Vieyra-Preston, Sarea White.

Junction City High School Special Senior Athletic Awards

Bert McKinsey Award Aryus Jones
Mike Champ Scholar Athlete Award – Allison McKenzie, Ryan Henington
Kim Kilpatrick Award – Allison McKenzie
Rob Smith Loyal Blue Jay Award – Jasmine Barry, Allison McKenzie, Rylee Zimmerman, Adam Campbell, Aryus Jones, AJ Range

Students from Junction City Middle School were also recognized and are included below.

Kenneth S. Shandy Award – Abigail Rosauer
William F. Orth Sportsmanship Award – Megan Hunt, Jonathon Dennard
William F. Orth Oustanding Award – Russell Wilkey, Logan Brengle
E.R. Dailey Math Award – Elyse Nguyen, Alex Seelye
H.D. Karns Citizenship Award – Mindy Lechuga, Nate Green
National Junior Honor Society Scholarship Awards – Rachel Cho, Cassidy Eschliman, Ryan Pham
Roger D. Hauptli Track Award – Chris Owensmariah Gonzalez
Elite Gold Recognition – Allyza Rucker, Tayor Strickland, Chloe Welsh, Jocelyn Luke

Fort Riley Middle School students listed below were also recognized at the meeting as part of the academic resolution.

Herschel Olmstead Citizenship Award – Elena Millanez, Jacob Linnabary
6th grade Trooper Citizenship Award – Brittney Strachan, Aliyah Rodriguez-Sanchez, Yaireliz Perez-Burgos
7th grade Trooper Citizenship Award – Murin Burkett, Mahkayla Cole, Keara Marquardt
Wilber Morris Community Service Award (Gr. 7) – Morgan Britton, Faith Cummings, Noelia Toscano
Wilber Morris Community Service Award (Gr. 8) – Isabella Armstrong, Angela Delgado
Top Trooper Club Male Athlete – Xavier Lopez
Top Trooper Club Female Athlete – Haven Habhab

Please follow and like us:

You May Also Like

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now